Teacher of the Year Recipients


This award is given to a theatre teacher whose unselfish efforts and countless hours really do mean something to those who care. Named after Judy Rethwisch, now retired theatre teacher of Affton High School, Judy served as the MO State Director from 1984-1993 and was instrumental in establishing MO Thespians. At the 1993 MO State Conference, Judy was named the Thespian Teacher of the Year. The award was presented to her by JOHN GOODMAN, Affton graduate and former drama student of Judy's. The award was renamed after Judy because she represents the very best of theatre educators. Those who continue to receive this honor are the unsung heroes to countless students and colleagues alike. Congratulations to the following recipients. You represent the very best in theatre educators in the state of Missouri and MO Thespians honor you!


2023-2024- Erin Moody, Branson High School

2022-2023- Kate Wilkinson, Fort Zumwalt East High School

2021-2022 - Marty Strohmeyer, Visitation Academy

2020-2021 - Brad Rackers, Lee's Summit West High School

2019-2020 - Amie Gossett, Parkway West High School

2018-2019 - Sarah Buchheit (Serbus), Union High School

2017-2018 - Alex Moore, Mehlville High School

2016-2017 - Jennifer Forrest-James, Parkway South High School

2015-2016 - None Given

2014-2015 - Teri Turner, Smith Cotton High School

2013-2014 - Robert Gleason, Holt High School

2012-2013 - Nona Miller, Owensville High School

2011-2012 - Mike Beattie, Waynesville High School

2010-2011 - Bonnie Schurman, Joplin High School

2009-2010 - Jo Nell Seifert, Poplar Bluff High School

2008-2009 - None Given

2007-2008 - Shayne Daniel, Lee's Summit North High School

2006-2007 - Ben Martin, Lee's Summit West High School

2005-2006 - Anita Lippman, Brentwood High School

2004-2005 - Todd Schnake, Raymore - Peculiar High School

2003-2004 - Maggie Ryan, Nerinx Hall High School

2002-2003 - Nicole Voss, Parkway Central High School

2001-2002 - Tim Buchheit, St. Francis Borgia High School

2000-2001 - Bob Fowler, Hazelwood West High School

1999-2000 - Lana Hagan, Washington High School

1998-1999 - Joe Potter, William Woods University

1997-1998 - Kurt Knoedelseder, Ladue Horton Watkins High School

1996-1997 - Bill Townsend, Nixa High School

1995-1996 - Ted Huff, Fort Zumwalt South High School

1994-1995 - Ron Kenney, Webster Groves High School

1993-1994 - Judy Rethwisch, Affton High School (award officially changed to current title)

1992-1993 - None Given

1991-1992 - Brian Welch, Villa Duchesne High School

1990-1991 - Joel Short, Belton High School

1989-1990 - Mike Beahm, Raymore-Peculiar High School